view cart menu separator categories menu separator faq
advanced search
categories  > '50s Music (8)
Elvis Presley Christmas Peace (Mail on Sunday album: O Come All Ye Faithful;I ll Be Home 4 Xmas;Blue
3 images
Elvis Presley Christmas Peace (Mail on Sunday album: O Come All Ye Faithful;I ll Be Home 4 Xmas;Blue
Elvis Presley Christmas Peace (Mail on Sunday album: O Come All Ye Faithful;I ll Be Home 4 Xmas;Blue
Elvis Presley Christmas Peace (Mail on Sunday album: O Come All Ye Faithful;I ll Be Home 4 Xmas;Blue

Elvis Presley Christmas Peace (Mail on Sunday album: O Come All Ye Faithful;I ll Be Home 4 Xmas;Blue

Price: $13.20 add to cart     
Feedback: 86.98%, 19 sales Ask seller a question
Shipping: US-Mainland: free (more destinations)
Seller's Country: United Kingdom
Condition: Used
Payment Options:
ARTIST: Elvis Presley

TITLE: Elvis Christmas Peace

BACKGROUND: Elvis Presley croons his way through a collection of festive favourites, as only ‘The King [of Rock n Roll]’ can. This superb compilation is made up of material cherry picked from Elvis’ two Christmas albums: ‘Elvis’s Christmas Album’; and ‘Elvis Sings The Wonderful World Of Christmas’. The Christmas Peace promo has a wonderful selection including the singles 'O Come All Ye Faithful', 'I’ll Be Home for Christmas' and 'Blue Christmas'; not to mention the classics ‘Here Comes Santa Claus’, ‘O Little Town Of Bethlehem’, ‘Silent Night’ and ‘Winter Wonderland’!

This is the Mail on Sunday promo version which is far rarer and more sought after than the official release. It was produced in the run up to Christmas specifically to promote ‘Viva ELVIS’ – the cover of which is shown on the rear of the sleeve, together with the following text:
“Viva ELVIS, the album taken from the Cirque du Soleil show of the same name, is out not! It features the voice of Elvis Presley singing on 12 classic tracks, re-interpreted for the 21st Century – this is Elvis as you’ve never heard him before! Tracks include brand new versions of Suspicious Minds, Love Me Tender, Can’t Help Falling In Love and Burning Love among others.”
For more info on this CD, please see the original description which is attached at the end of this listing.

STYLE OF MUSIC / GENRE: Rock and roll, pop, rockabilly, country, blues, gospel, R&B, Honky tonk

TRACKLIST (followed by approximate running time of each song):
1. Blue Christmas 2:07
2. Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane) 1:54
3. White Christmas 2:23
4. Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me) 1:52
5. I'll Be Home For Christmas 1:52
6. Santa Claus Is Back In Town 2:24
7. O Little Town Of Bethlehem 2:36
8. Silent Night 2:13
9. If Every Day Was Like Christmas 2:53
10. O Come, All Ye Faithful 2:48
11. The First Noel 2:10
12. On A Snowy Christmas Night 2:50
13. Winter Wonderland 2:19
14. The Wonderful World Of Christmas 1:59
15. It Won't Seem Like Christmas (Without You) 2:42
NB. All tracks performed by Elvis.

FORMAT: CD promo album in illustrated card case (as pictured).

PUBLISHED BY: Sony Music Entertainment UK Ltd. / The Mail on Sunday (2003)


CONDITION: This not a brand new CD. As such there may be signs of wear. It is an original product (not counterfeit). If we have more than one copy these are sent on a ‘first come, first served’ basis with those in the best condition sent to whoever buys first. Each CD is tested to ensure perfect playback.


DESCRIPTION (which originally accompanied this release): The tracks on Christmas Peace, including White Christmas and Silent Night, are taken from the two albums of festive music recorded by the King – and there’s also a holiday single he released in 1966.

The first of those two albums, Elvis’s Christmas Album, topped the US charts on its release in 1957 – and made No 2 in the UK – rounding off an incredible two years since he exploded on to the scene internationally with Heartbreak Hotel and Blue Suede Shoes.

It was made up of eight festive numbers – all featuring on Christmas Peace – and a handful of gospel tunes.

Elvis, then 22, was just emerging from the hip-swivelling notoriety that had characterised his early years. And hard as it might now be to believe, his first Christmas record only added to
his notoriety.

Earlier in 1957, Frank Sinatra had attacked the new breed of rock ’n’ rollers as ‘cretinous goons’ and ‘sideburned delinquents’.

And confronted with The King’s version of White Christmas, the song’s horrified author Irving Berlin launched a largely unsuccessful campaign to stop radio stations from playing it.

Listening now to Elvis’s gentle account of the song, delicately played by his regular band with the accompaniment of backing singers The Jordanaires, it is difficult to comprehend the great songwriter’s fury.

At the time, Elvis had just moved into his Graceland home in Memphis, and he loved the festive period. One photo that year captured the smiling star surrounded by piles of presents, under the watchful gaze of a large stuffed panda.

Out on his enormous front lawn, he had erected a giant Santa, with sleigh and reindeer and a huge neon sign conveying Elvis’s Christmas wishes to the world.

By the time he recorded his next Christmas album in 1971, entitled Elvis Sings The Wonderful World Of Christmas – the best of which is also included on Christmas Peace – his days of outraging public morals were far behind him, though his love of the festive season was ¬undiminished.

Santa and his reindeers were once again on the front lawn of Grace¬land, along with a life-size nativity scene acquired in the Sixties. They are all still erected every Christmas – enduring like the music Elvis recorded to celebrate his favourite time of year.


**PLEASE NOTE** We have 6 other fantastic Elvis promo CDs as well as this album. To view them, first make sure you are in our store (as opposed to the general eCrater one). If you are already in our store then you will see the AAA Hughes logo at the top left of the screen (and it will be orange around the search bar at the top); if not either click on ‘aaahughes’ (beside ‘Seller:’), or ‘View Store’ beneath the ‘Buy Now’ button. Now you’re in our store, enter Elvis into the search bar at the top and click ‘Search’!
Other Products from aaahughes:View all products
Blur - Live 2009 Access All Areas Summer Reunion Tour (BBC/Sunday Times+ Glastonbury promo parklife)
Legendary Covers As Sung By Elton John 2(Volume/Vol Two collection from 1969/70chartbusters go pop!
The Everly Brothers - Volume Two (Vol 2) Cathy's Clown/Walk Right Back(Sunday Express essential hits
Moby A Night in NYC (4Last N inc:Disco Lies;Go;Lift Me Up;Extreme Ways;Porcelain;Natural Blues;Honey
David Bowie iSelect (alt Best Of promo. Glam rock from Space Oddity/Ziggy Stardust to Scary Monsters
Marillion - Misplaced Childhood (Daily Mail symphonic rock promo: Heart Of Lothian;Lavender;Kayleigh
Frank [Sinatra] Sammy [Davis Jr.] & Dean [Martin] -The People- Rat Pack Collection  (promo CD comp)
The Doors Strange Days(Sunday Times promo Love Me Two[2] Times;People Are Strange;When Music Is Over
Kathryn Williams - Exclusive (promo CD album sampler)
John Lennon - Legends* (promo the Mail on Sunday inc Imagine, Mind Games, Jealous Guy, New York City
Last Updated: 19 Feb 2013 17:55:15 PST home  |  about  |  terms  |  contact
Powered by eCRATER - a free online store builder