view cart menu separator categories menu separator faq
advanced search
categories  > Noughties & New Music (20)
Prince - Planet Earth (promo CD album Mail on Sunday, inc Guitar; Chelsea Rodgers; The One U Wanna C
8 images
Prince - Planet Earth (promo CD album Mail on Sunday, inc Guitar; Chelsea Rodgers; The One U Wanna C
Prince - Planet Earth (promo CD album Mail on Sunday, inc Guitar; Chelsea Rodgers; The One U Wanna C
Prince - Planet Earth (promo CD album Mail on Sunday, inc Guitar; Chelsea Rodgers; The One U Wanna C
Prince - Planet Earth (promo CD album Mail on Sunday, inc Guitar; Chelsea Rodgers; The One U Wanna C

Prince - Planet Earth (promo CD album Mail on Sunday, inc Guitar; Chelsea Rodgers; The One U Wanna C

Price: $10.95 add to cart     
Feedback: 86.98%, 19 sales Ask seller a question
Shipping: US-Mainland: free (more destinations)
Seller's Country: United Kingdom
Condition: Used
Payment Options:
ARTIST: Prince

ALBUM TITLE: Planet Earth

ADDITIONAL INFO: Famously this UK promo CD was the worldwide debut for the album (which makes it all the more collectable). More importantly this is one of Princes best albums of recent years, as reflected by the critical acclaim it garnered (NB the BBC review is at the base of this listing). For more information about this pivotal release see:
- NEW Prince album with The Mail on Sunday
- BBC News article on the release
- TIME magazine – Why Prince’s ploy worked,8599,1644427,00.html

Images 4 to 8 show:
- 4, 5 and 6 were flyers used to market/promote the release.
- 7 shows the cover of the Mail on Sunday newspaper.
- 8 is a promotional image from the Superbowl (similar to that on the newspaper cover in 7 above). The relevance of this is detailed directly below.
Please note that these pictures (4 to 8) are included for reference purposes only. The flyers and newspaper are NOT for sale here.

TRIVIA FACT: The Music press and other media were sent photos of Prince’s performance during the Super Bowl half-time show (Miami, Feb. 4, 2007) to print in their publications alongside reviews of this album. One of these pictures is included on the cover of the Mail on Sunday newspaper (pictured).

STYLE OF MUSIC / GENRE: Funk, Soul, R&B, rock, pop, new wave, Minneapolis sound, synthpop

TRACKLIST (followed by approximate running time of each song):
1. Planet Earth 5:51
2. Guitar 3:45
3. Somewhere Here On Earth 5:46
4. The One U Wanna C 4:29
5. Future Baby Mama 4:48
6. Mr. Goodnight 4:26
7. All The Midnights In The World 2:22
8. Chelsea Rodgers 5:41
9. Lion Of Judah 4:11
10. Resolution 3:41
NB. All tracks performed by Prince.

FORMAT: CD promo album in illustrated card case (as pictured).

PUBLISHED BY: NPG Records Ltd. / The Mail on Sunday (2007)


CONDITION: This not a brand new CD. As such there may be signs of wear. It is an original product (not counterfeit). If we have more than one copy these are sent on a ‘first come, first served’ basis with those in the best condition sent to whoever buys first. Each CD is tested to ensure perfect playback.


BBC Review: The things you do for a buck...Controversially given away with the Mail On Sunday; this latest slab of funky, pop-flavoured pop prog from the diminutive purple one meant that your reviewer had to quit his cosy Sunday morning bed to get a copy with his pint of milk. Good job I hadn’t been drinking the night before, as Prince’s output has always been heady stuff for the Lord’s Day.
Strangely enough the link may not be so tenuous. Prince’s work still draws on the church though he’s no longer in thrall to the psycho-sexual, God vs. naughty little devil act. It’s now a milder mixture of righteous, groovy morality (“Planet Earth”, “Lion Of Judah”) and his irrepressible desire to get down. This is a return of sorts to the sunshine pop end of the artist’s output. He’s back from the outer badlands of dirty funk that he roamed for so long. That’s not to say that “Chelsea Rodgers” (the name of the impish one’s latest protégé and ‘role model’) doesn’t avoid getting on the good foot. But overall Planet Earth is light in tone.
As always there are a few slow ‘making-out’ numbers: “Mister Goodnight” is a slinky return to the wicked purpleness we love him for whereas “Somewhere Here On Earth” is less successful; being rather too generic in its jazzy, R’nB loved-upness.

The rest of the album is a tasty melange of psycheledic Californian harmonies (“The One U Wanna C”), and wigged-out guitar pop (“Planet Earth”, “Resolution”) all buoyed up by popping basslines. The real clunker is, unfortunately, the first single. “Guitar”, which is as unimaginative enough to veer close to sounding like pretenders to the throne, such as Lenny Kravitz. It’s still got an ace guitar solo at the end though...

In fact, not since Purple Rain has he got out the axe so much (this album even sees the return of old cohorts such as Wendy, Lisa and Sheila E). It’s probably a nod to a stadium career that’s kept him in pesos since his recorded output became overtaken by everyone from Outkast to Timbaland, each one of whom worships at his altar. Who cares? He’s still Prince, and he’s still a little bit funky. Chris Jones [For original article see:
Other Products from aaahughes:View all products
Tina Turner Private Dancer(promo:What's Love Got To Do With It;Better Be Good2Me; Lets Stay Together
Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin & Sammy Davis Jr. - Vol.1 (Rat Pack Volume One Essential Collection promo
Elvis [Presley] - Legends  (promo Sunday Mirror CD inc Heartbreak Hotel, Hound Dog & Love Me Tender)
Blur - Live 2009 Access All Areas Summer Reunion Tour (BBC/Sunday Times+ Glastonbury promo parklife)
Bee Gees - Best Live* (promo CD compilation)
Tina Turner - Legends (promo CD compilation)
[White] Christmas with Cliff Richard (inc Mistletoe And Wine; Let It Snow. Promo the Soulicious Tour
Blondie/Deborah Harry Personal Collection(10Track Collectors’MailOnSunday Album+The Jazz Passenger
Moby - Selected By Moby (promo CD album)
Various - Classic Crooners Volume 2 (Vol Two promo inc. Nat King Cole, Tony Bennett, Bing Crosby)
Last Updated: 19 Feb 2013 17:55:15 PST home  |  about  |  terms  |  contact
Powered by eCRATER - a free online store builder