view cart menu separator categories menu separator faq
advanced search
categories  > '50s Music (8)
Elvis [Presley] - Legends  (promo Sunday Mirror CD inc Heartbreak Hotel, Hound Dog & Love Me Tender)
5 images
Elvis [Presley] - Legends  (promo Sunday Mirror CD inc Heartbreak Hotel, Hound Dog & Love Me Tender)
Elvis [Presley] - Legends  (promo Sunday Mirror CD inc Heartbreak Hotel, Hound Dog & Love Me Tender)
Elvis [Presley] - Legends  (promo Sunday Mirror CD inc Heartbreak Hotel, Hound Dog & Love Me Tender)
Elvis [Presley] - Legends  (promo Sunday Mirror CD inc Heartbreak Hotel, Hound Dog & Love Me Tender)

Elvis [Presley] - Legends (promo Sunday Mirror CD inc Heartbreak Hotel, Hound Dog & Love Me Tender)

Price: $13.20 add to cart     
Feedback: 86.98%, 19 sales Ask seller a question
Shipping: US-Mainland: free (more destinations)
Seller's Country: United Kingdom
Condition: Used
Payment Options:
ARTIST: Elvis Presley

ALBUM TITLE: Mirror Legends - Elvis

BACKGROUND INFO (ABOUT THIS RELEASE): The legend of Elvis Presley and his meteoric rise from singing truck driver to the "King of Rock ‘n’ Roll" has been well documented. Nevertheless there seems to be a hunger from each up-and-coming generation to find out for themselves and to forge a new narrative. As stated in the pre-release blurb, this is one such opportunity: “Don't step on anyone's Blue Suede Shoes in the rush to grab this [CD]... Its the definitive must-have collection, packed with top tracks. This fabulous 10- track album includes Heartbreak Hotel, Blue Suede Shoes, Hound Dog, Love Me Tender, Tutti Frutti and loads more.” [NB The above text has been edited slightly to retain only the key information which is relevant to this release]. To delve deeper into the history of Elvis through the eyes of the press, one only needs to look at how the Daily & Sunday Mirror (perhaps the most prolific tabloid follower of The King), documented his stratospheric rise (and subsequent fall from grace). Pictures four & five show representative cover images, however these newspapers are for information only and are NOT offered for sale.

This CD was released in the UK and the Republic of Ireland. Whilst there are subtle differences between the two releases, they are almost identical. Currently we only have the UK version in stock.

STYLE OF MUSIC / GENRE: Rock and roll, pop, rockabilly, country, blues, gospel, R&B, Honky tonk

TRACKLIST - Tracks 1 to 10 are all by Elvis Presley. The title is followed by the original description which accompanied this release (with approximate run-time of each song at the end):
1. Heartbreak Hotel: This was Elvis's debut single on RCA. The song went to No 2 in the UK in 1956 and was a US No 1 in the same year. One of the many artists to cover it was Whitney Houston, whose mother had sung backing vocals on various versions with Elvis. 2:09
2. Hound Dog: Elvis's fourth UK single which went straight into the Top 10 in September 1956. Penned by the writers of Stand By Me and Jailhouse Rock, it is widely considered to be one of the most influential songs in the history of pop music. 2:16
3. Love Me Tender: This much-loved ballad was originally the theme tune to the movie. Set to the tune of Aura Lee, it reached No 11 in December 1956 in the UK. In the States it was the first time a single by the same artist took over the top spot. 2:43
4. Don't Be Cruel: Credits for this track also go to Otis Blackwell, a songwriter from New York who had previous smash hits with songs such as Great Balls of Fire and Fever. 2:03
5. Lawdy Miss Clawdy: This rock 'n' roll classic was first a hit for Lloyd Price in 1952. Elvis's cover reached No 15 in the UK in November 1957. Artists as diverse as Little Richard and Paul McCartney have covered it. 2:09
6. Shake, Rattle And Roll: Big Joe Turner first recorded this pioneering tune, often referred to as the first rock and roll record. The provocative lyrics were given a clean-up by the time Bill Haley and his Comets took it to the Top 10 in 1954. 2:28
7. Tutti Frutti: Elvis used Little Richard's toe-tapping anthem as a B-side to Blue Suede Shoes, which he released in 1956. The song was No 43 on magazine Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Songs of All Time. 1:59
8. Blue Suede Shoes: This was Elvis's second hit, and went in at No 9 in the UK charts in 1956. Originally a hit for Carl Perkins, this song is one of Elvis's most celebrated cover versions. 2:01
9. Paralyzed: Another tune penned with the help of Otis Blackwell which hit No 8 in the UK in August 1957. It was never released in the States as a single though, amid fear the title would be considered too controversial. 2:24
10. Ready Teddy: Elvis sang this on his now legendary first appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show in 1956, which was viewed by a then record-breaking 60 million people. It also featured on Little Richard's debut album which was released a year later in 1957. 1:54
BONUS TRACKS (Artist followed by song title & track duration):
11. Joseph Patterson – Fall Down 8:32
12. The Valleys – Thirty Something 8:36
13. Potter – 516 Start Time 8:06
14. Incident 120 – Ballroom 5:24
15. Girly Graham – Forever 5:33

FORMAT: CD promo album in illustrated card case (as pictured).

PUBLISHED BY: Carbon Music Ltd / Sunday Mirror (2007)


CONDITION: This not a brand new CD. As such there may be signs of wear. It is an original product (not counterfeit). If we have more than one copy these are sent on a ‘first come, first served’ basis with those in the best condition sent to whoever buys first. Each CD is tested to ensure perfect playback.


NB: We have 6 other fantastic Elvis promo CDs as well as this album. To view them, first make sure you are in our store (as opposed to the general eCrater one). If you are already in our store then you will see the AAA Hughes logo at the top left of the screen (and it will be orange around the search bar at the top); if not either click on ‘aaahughes’ (beside ‘Seller:’), or ‘View Store’ beneath the ‘Buy Now’ button. Now you’re in our store, enter Elvis into the search bar at the top and click ‘Search’!
Other Products from aaahughes:View all products
Queen - Rock You [+'We Will Rock You' musical bonus] (promo CD)
Legendary Covers As Sung By Elton John 2(Volume/Vol Two collection from 1969/70chartbusters go pop!
Paul McCartney live in LA/Los Angeles (the Grammy nominated Amoeba Show MPL/Mail on Sunday promo CD)
SUPREMES Forever Sixties Motown Soul LEGENDS (promo: Baby Love; Stop in the name of; You Can't Hurry
Sister Sledge Legends (best of/greatest hits inc We Are Family;Frankie;He's The Greatest Dancer;Love
The Everly Brothers -Volume One (Vol 1) All I have to do is Dream/Bye Bye Love(Sunday Express promo)
Simple Minds - Once Upon A Time  (promo CD album)
Kylie Minogue Performance (to promote Aphrodite les Folies.Inc Light Years;Slow;Boombox;In Your Eyes
Genesis - Studio Hits to Live Over Europe* (Mail on Sunday CD compilation to promo When In Rome 2007
Cliff Richard 50th Anniversary(Mail on Sunday album4Time Machine Tour;And They Said It Wouldnt Last
Last Updated: 19 Feb 2013 17:55:15 PST home  |  about  |  terms  |  contact
Powered by eCRATER - a free online store builder